How Much Will Getting Caught Driving Without Insurance in South Jersey Cost You?

If you live in the state of New Jersey, you are well aware that the state’s car insurance rates are pretty high. In fact, in an analysis that was done by the website, when comparing the average annual premium of all the states in the country, New Jersey ranks twelfth.  With rates in the state averaging well over $1,500 per year, it is no surprise that so many people are tempted to forego insurance, taking their chances at driving without insurance, but doing so presents a bigger risk than simply being without coverage if you’re in an accident. The state also imposes hefty fines and penalties on those caught driving without insurance. At Wallace Law, we are experienced defense attorneys who can provide you with legal representation, and we are dedicated to making sure that our clients understand the potential outcomes of their actions. Here’s what you need to know about how much getting caught driving without insurance in South Jersey could cost you.

The state of New Jersey takes the issue of automobile insurance very seriously, and as a result getting caught without it is considered a serious offense. The law requires that if you own a vehicle that is registered or garaged in the state, you must have liability insurance, and that anybody who operates one of these vehicles on a public road or highway with the knowledge that it has no insurance has violated the law. If you are pulled over and are unable at trial to prove to the court that the vehicle is insured, you face a first time violation penalty of a minimum $300 fine and up to $1,000 community service. You also will have to pay $250 per year surcharges to the Division of Motor Vehicles for three years and will find that your driver’s license has been suspended for a full year. You will additionally be expected to pay court costs and fees.

The penalty for a second offense is even greater, with a fine of up to $5,000 imposed and a minimum jail sentence of 14 days. You will also be expected to perform thirty days of community service and your license will be revoked for two full years. At the end of that period of time an application must be made to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to get driving privileges back – there is no automatic reinstatement.

If you have been pulled over and charged with driving without insurance coverage, there are ways to defend against these charges successfully. These include proving that the vehicle was registered in another state, proving that the driver was unaware that the vehicle was not insured, or proving that the coverage had been provided under a different policy. To learn more about how we can help, contact the attorneys at Wallace Law today to set up a time for convenient consultation.